Situated in the heart of the Lake District National Park, with stunning views over the Rothay Valley and with the Fairfield Horseshoe and Nab Scar as a backdrop, Rydal Hall and its grounds are the perfect place for you to get away from it all and indulge in a weekend of music-making. The estate has developed from the 1600s until the present day with over 30 acres of formal gardens, woodlands and iconic landmarks to explore.
Quoting from the Rydal Hall Brochure about the gardens and the history of the Hall:
.....'Designed and built by renowned landscape architect, Thomas Mawson, the formal gardens are a fine example of Arts and Crafts design in a wonderful setting.
The Quiet Garden is a secluded area of woodland, with ponds and paths leading to the river. A place for peace and reflection, it is planned to join the Quiet Garden Movement from 2018.
The Grot, or grotto, was built in 1668 by Sir Daniel Fleming and designed as a place to frame and enjoy the spectacular Rydal Falls and it is one of Britain's earliest examples of a viewing station. William Wordsworth is known to have been particularly fond of the Grot, writing about it in one of his earlier poems 'An Evening Walk' and visiting with his nephew shortly before his death.
Rydal Hall estate is part of the Red Squirrel Conservation Project and is home to a diverse range of plants and wildlife. One relic of the Rydal Hall estate - the sweet chestnut tree - is thought to have been part of the original plantings on the estate, dating back over 400 or 500 years depending on who you ask!
Rydal Hall has been generating its own hydro-electric power for over 100 years. The recent £2m project saw the turbine upgraded, enabling a display of part of the original turbine to be created, which illustrates our commitment to green energy long before it became fashionable....'
....'Both visually and historically Rydal Hall is the key building in Rydal. The Le Fleming family can be traced back to 1126 and were possibly linked with the 1066 Conquest. When Sir Thomas married Isabella of the de Lancaster family, a large area near Coniston and Rydal was inherited. Originally the family lived at Coniston Hall and in 1575 moved to Rydal, to the old Hall which was built on a knoll beside the present main road. In 1681 it was described as 'now in ruins'.
The new Hall was built by Sir Michael Le Fleming in the 16th Century, enlarged in the 17th Century, altered and refaced in the 18th Century, with the main front dating from the early 19th Century. The building is considered architecturally fine and is listed as Grade II*, along with the terraces, bridges and outbuildings.
Since 1963, Rydal Hall has been run by the Church of England Diocese of Carlisle as a place of hospitality, tranquility and spirituality for all......'
Address and Directions
Rydal Hall is situated off the A591 between Ambleside and Grasmere, Cumbria. Approaching from Ambleside about a mile after leaving the town, take the turning on the right, signposted Rydal Hall.
Approaching from Grasmere, take the first left after the Glen Rothay Hotel.
The Hall is on the right, through wrought iron gates.